Travel tips to minimise stress.

As travelling is one of my favourite things to do, I regularly find myself on a plane to my next destination. I think the best thing about travelling is you learn to see people and places in a new perspective. It’s quite humbling to come to terms with the fact there is so much more going on in the world around you that you could ever imagine.

But transportation to and from your destination can be dreadful and exhausting. So how can you minimise this? Is there any ways to beat the jet lag? Read on to find out how I cope with this.

1. First and foremost, you need to write a list in advance of everything you want to take on holiday with you. This way you can go through it as your pack to be sure you’ve included everything in your bag.

2. Let someone at home know your travelling plans. Even if you are not traveling solo, have a friend or family member who can check in on you to make sure your safe.

3. Try and pack most of your belongings into your main bag. If you stuff to many items in your carry on, you run the risk of losing more belongings. Try to only take the necessitys in your carry on.

4. Bring snacks. I can’t remember how many times I’ve been on a plane and opened up the package of airplane food to find something that just looking at makes me feel sick. Because of the dramatic change in your time zones your body can struggle to cooperate with the new eating times. So bring your favourite snacks to nibble on. But just a reminder: DO NOT BRING ANY PROHIBITED FOOD INTO THE NEXT COUNTRY, dispose of your uneaten snacks before going through customs.
IMG_2661.JPG

5. Drink water. Staying hydrated especially on long haul flights is very important for your body. If you are hydrated your will likely recover from the jet lag faster.

6. When on the plane stretch you legs. I like to take occasional walks up and down the isle even if I don’t need to use the toilet. I also recommend doing as many stretches as you can manage in your seat. This will help minimise muscle ache from all that sitting.

7. Learn common phrases of the local language. When you travel to a different country I believe it’s very important to try your best to show respect towards the culture. If you were travelling to somewhere where English wasn’t the first language, It would be unfair to expect the locals to speak English fluently.
IMG_2713.JPG
8. Put your room number and hotel address into your phone. One time my Dad and I were lost in Tokyo looking for our hotel when after all that we were standing right underneath it! This is an example where planning ahead can go a long way.

9. Ask the locals. In my opinion, the locals always know the best places to visit and restaurants to eat. Unlike a tourist company, locals are not being paid to advise and sell you tickets to particular tourist attraction and therefore when you ask them about where the best place to eat is, their answer will likely be a lot more genuine.

10. Pre-plan your outfits. Don’t get stuck carrying around way too many unworn clothes. Try to pack weather-appropriate gear.
221A1DAD-9F50-4741-904A-1094BF674985.jpg
11. Lastly, be flexible and expect delays. It’s not uncommon for transportation to be held up. Be patient, it’s a all part of travelling.

Thanks for reading! I hope you have a wonderful trip. Tell me where you would like to travel to and why in the comments below!

Go to ‘home’ in the menu above to view more posts like this.

– Emma x

Follow me on Instagram:
@emzynelson

Email me:
emmabwetere@gmail.com

4 thoughts on “Travel tips to minimise stress.

  1. Handy and very good tips. Google maps help me a lot when in a new place. I ensure to save it offline on the mobile. It is a great companion. Also i earmark some travellogues and tripadvisor posts for easy reference. Posts like yours would help fellow travellers at times. Good.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

