I Went Vegan For One Week – what I ate, how I felt?

A few weeks ago I decided I wanted to try out a fully vegan diet. As veganism is widely publicised as one of the best things you can do for your health, I wanted to see what the craze was all about. Veganism is increasingly becoming more and more mainstream. So here are my thoughts and opinions of the vegan diet. Have you tried out the vegan diet before? If so, tell me your thoughts below!

First and foremost: Why Vegan?

To be clear, I am not a nutritionist or health care professional and therefore I will quote other more reliable sources on the answer to this question.
IMG_0695.JPG
For your health:
Well-planned plant-based diets are rich in protein, iron, calcium and other essential vitamins and minerals. The plant-based sources of these nutrients tend to be low in saturated fat, high in fibre and packed with antioxidants, helping mitigate some of the modern world’s biggest health issues like obesity, heart disease, diabetes and cancer.’ -The Vegan Society.
(These claims have been scientifically proven and can be read about in more depth on Why go vegan? – The Vegan Society )

For the Environment:
‘From recycling our household rubbish to cycling to work, we’re all aware of ways to live a greener life. One of the most effective things an individual can do to lower their carbon footprint is to avoid all animal products.’ – The Vegan Society.

For People:
‘Just like veganism is the sustainable option when it comes to looking after our planet, plant-based living is also a more sustainable way of feeding the human family. A plant-based diet requires only one third of the land needed to support a meat and dairy diet. With rising global food and water insecurity due to a myriad of environmental and socio-economic problems, there’s never been a better time to adopt a more sustainable way of living. Avoiding animal products is not just one of the simplest ways an individual can reduce the strain on food as well as other resources, it’s the simplest way to take a stand against inefficient food systems which disproportionately affects the poorest people all over the world.’ – The Vegan Society.

Why Vegetarian Isn’t Enough:
‘The suffering caused by the dairy and egg industry is possibly less well publicised than the plight of factory farmed animals. The production of dairy products necessitates the death of countless male calves that are of no use to the dairy farmer, as well as the premature death of cows slaughtered when their milk production decreases. Similarly, in the egg industry, even ‘ethical’ or ‘free range’ eggs involve the killing of the ‘unnecessary’ male chicks when just a day old.’ – The Vegan Society.

Ethical Meat?
‘It’s tempting to want to believe that the meat we eat is ethical, that our ‘food animals’ have lived full, happy lives and that they have experienced no pain or fear at the slaughterhouse. Yet the sad truth is that all living creatures (even those labelled ‘free range’ or ‘organic’) fear death, just as we do. No matter how they are treated when alive, they all experience the same fear when it comes to slaughter.’ – The Vegan Society.

IMG_1865.JPG
My opinion on the Vegan Diet:

After all of that information, it almost seems we have an obligation to be vegan. This made me realise that every time I order something that has animal products in it at a restaurant or buy something from the supermarket that contains animal products, I am contributing to the problem. In the same way that if I do the opposite of these things, I am helping to solve the problem.

Upon my first full day of eating as a vegan, I noticed the difference in how my body felt when I consumed food. As I was effectively eating only fruit, vegetables and a little bit of carbs, my body noticeably processed the food faster. You know that feeling you get when you’ve overeaten and you feel kind of sick? I never felt like that once while following a fully vegan diet.

The hardest thing was what to eat. I would consider my family pretty healthy people but as my parents do not follow a vegan diet, this meant learning a lot of new recipes. Here is an example of some of my vegan meals:

1. Breakfast:
Mango Smoothie: Mango + Coconut water + Spinach + Banana

2. Lunch:
Falafel Wrap: Spinach Wrap + Carrot + Lettuce + Tomato + Hummus + Rocket + Celery + Capsicum + Falafel

3. Snacks:
Bought Frooze Balls: Dates + Nuts = BLENDED TOGETHER
Kumara Chips: Kumara baked in Coconut Oil

4. Dinner:
Tacos: Salasa beans + Taco shells + Lettuce + Hummus + Tomato + Avocado

My final thoughts:

I didn’t struggle with cravings throughout the week, I enjoyed my meals and felt really cleaned out. I ate slightly bigger portions. I actually lost weight (1.5kg). I never felt overfull like I can when eating animal product containing meals. My skin was great. I had been eating 5+ a day and the fructose did not effect my skin (my skin is very sensitive to refined sugar). I had more energy too. I think this was because my body wasn’t having to work as hard to process meat.

Testing out this diet has encouraged me to incorporate it into my life. I have started by cutting out meat, chicken, dairy and eggs. Only fish and honey to go now. I am really proud of my progress but more than anything I am amazed by the way this diet can help to transform your life.

Have you, or will you try out the vegan diet? I couldn’t recommend it more!
If so tell me how it goes. I’d love to read what you have to say.

-Emma x

Follow me on Instagram:
@emzynelson

23 thoughts on “I Went Vegan For One Week – what I ate, how I felt?

    1. Honestly in some ways vegamism can be cheaper than the average diet. It really all depends on what you buy i.e. as you will likely be eating lots of veges and fruit it’s best to only purchase the ones in season as they should be cheaper. If you meal plan and don’t waste produce I believe a vegan diet doesn’t cost more than any other meal plan. The only time there can be a noticeable difference in price is when going out for a meal. You might be more limited to where you can eat and not have as many value for money choices. xx

      Like

  1. I think that the biggest issue for me would be cravings, I love chocolate and I don’t really know how would I go without it. But your experience encourage me to try some vegan meals and try to change my diet a little bit. xx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes I totally understand what your saying. My mum makes this vegan, raw caramel slice which is how I deal with my sweet tooth. That’s great that this post has encouraged you to give it a go though! Tell me how it goes xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It was so amazing to read your experience. I want to try incorporating more vegan recipes in my life and cutting out meat and dairy especially after knowing how badly these animals are treated and how it affects the environment. Your positive experience has definitely motivated me!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I found this post super interesting! My sister is vegan and has been for years. I didn’t think much of it until veganism started to become mainstream. I definitely want to gradually become vegan. I don’t eat much meat at all, mostly because I don’t like it. I eat fish though. I think trying out the vegan diet for a week is a great idea to test it and gradually get into that lifestyle xxx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That’s so awesome. Glad this post could help. Yeah I’m similar to you, I still eat fish but have cut out meat. I think gradually cutting things out is helping me to ease into the diet better x tell me how you go! 💗

      Liked by 1 person

  4. An interesting experiment! I’ve been considering trying a vegan diet for a while, though I think I’ll have real problems giving up dairy products, particularly cheese, yogurt and ice cream. Though I’ve recently used coconut yogurt in smoothies, and that was nice.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I can definitely relate. I used to have a lot of dairy but fortunately the vegan diet still offers some great alternatives. As you said coconut yogurt is delicious, I also love almond/coconut milk and the right vegan ice cream can be just as good as the real thing

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

